Greener grass

It’s been a little while since I posted, and it’s also been a little while since I’ve felt well. I’m in a funk. Lots of changes going on, some are good, and some are good in disguise of being really shitty.

I realized something the other day, and it’s something I’ve known for a long time but always struggled with, like most people do:

“The grass is always greener on the other side.”

I’ve been a nomad for a few years now, having lived in many states and many more houses, for various reasons. The one thing in common with all my moves has been the single thought: it will be better soon.

Thing is, in the big picture, not a whole lot has changed, in any of those moves.

I think I’m addicted to running away, but it’s hard to run away from anything when you’re already lost. And that’s why nothing ever changes dramatically, because I keep doing the same thing, but in different places.

So I decided to change things up the other day, just a bit:

Instead of telling myself that things will be better soon, I decided to start looking for all the good things I already have. I tried really hard to not complain about anything (pretty difficult, it might sound easy but once you try it you realize what a little whiner you are).

And I felt better.

The thing is this: it’s all about perspective, about the way you choose to see the world, and as it turns out, the grass on this side is really freaking green!!!

 

Leave a Reply

